Cefic-lri Programme | European Chemical Industry Council

ECO52 – Bioavailability, complex substances and overall persistence (BCOP): three themes to deliver a step-change in persistence assessments

Principal Investigator

Christopher Hughes
Ricardo Energy & Environment
Gemini Building, Fermi Avenue
Harwell, Oxon, OX11 0QR
United Kingdom
chris.hughes@ricardo.com
Tel. +44 1235 753 687

Collaborators

Dr Stefan Hahn, Fraunhofer ITEM, Hannover, DE, stefan.hahn@item.fraunhofer.de

Michael Klein, Fraunhofer IME, Hannover, DE, michael.klein@ime.fraunhofer.de

David Brown, Ricardo Energy & Environment, Oxon, UK, david.brown@ricardo.com

Dieter Hennecke, Fraunhofer IME, Hannover, DE, dieter.hennecke@ime.fraunhofer.de

Judith Klein, Fraunhofer IME, Hannover, DE, judith.klein@ime.fraunhofer.de

Graham Whale, Whale Environmental Consultancy Ltd, UK, grahamwhale58@gmail.com

Description

This project seeks to explore opportunities to improve weight-of-evidence approaches in persistence assessment by incorporating the latest scientific developments in bioavailability, complex substances and overall persistence. A main focus of the project will be to improve guidance for substances outside the applicability domain of existing frameworks, such as UVCBs and polymers. The overall aim of the project is to offer practical guidance that will improve robustness, consistency and predictability of persistence assessments in chemical regulation.

Related Publications

Posters

Hughes, CB, Brown, DM, Griffiths, M, Hahn, S, Hennecke, D, Klein, J, Klein, M, Whale, GF. Complex substances and overall persistence (BCOP): three themes to deliver a step-change in persistence assessments – Overview of a CEFIC-LRI project (ECO52). SETAC Europe SciCon 30th Annual Meeting, May 2020, online.

Timeline: March 2020 > March 2022

LRI funding: € 231 256

Cefic-Lri Programme Responsible Care

Terms and Conditions of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Coockie Settings

© Copyright 2017 Cefic | European Chemical Industry Council. All rights reserved.